This is a past event.
Submit to Reddit

Driving Miss Daisy CL Recommends

When: Fri., March 21, 8 p.m., Sat., March 22, 8 p.m., Sun., March 23, 2:30 p.m., Thu., March 27, 7:30 p.m., Fri., March 28, 8 p.m., Sat., March 29, 8 p.m., Sun., March 30, 2:30 p.m., Wed., April 2, 7:30 p.m., Thu., April 3, 7:30 p.m., Fri., April 4, 8 p.m., Sat., April 5, 8 p.m. and Sun., April 6, 2:30 p.m. 2014
Price: $25-$27
“Highway robbery.” Funny how just two words can conjure up a fully satisfying evening of comedy and drama, as two elderly people from divergent backgrounds develop a special friendship over 25 years. Yes, Alfred Uhry’s 1988 Pulitzer Prize winner, Driving Miss Daisy, is back in town at Theatre Charlotte. Daisy Werthan is a proud old Jewish widow who has retired from school teaching and is resentful that she can’t drive around Atlanta anymore. Hoke Coleburn seems to be every bit as old as Daisy but more desperate for a job, and Boolie, Daisy’s much-maligned son, hires Hoke to be Daisy’s chauffeur — much to Daisy’s dismay. Vicki Rose is Daisy, John W. Price is Hoke, and Joe Copley is Boolie as we cruise through a series of scenes about race, religion, taking a pee and, most importantly, keeping track of the cans of tuna in your cupboard. (Perry Tannenbaum)

Reviews/comments

Subscribe to this thread:

Add a review

Creative Loafing encourages a healthy discussion on its website from all sides of the conversation, but we reserve the right to delete any comments that detract from that. Violence, racism and personal attacks that go beyond the pale will not be tolerated.


Roll over stars and click to rate.

Search Events…

Map

Nearby


History

© 2019 Womack Digital, LLC
Powered by Foundation