This is a past event.
Submit to Reddit

Gypsy 

When: Fri., Sept. 6, 8 p.m., Sat., Sept. 7, 8 p.m., Sun., Sept. 8, 2:30 p.m., Wed., Sept. 11, 7:30 p.m., Thu., Sept. 12, 7:30 p.m., Fri., Sept. 13, 8 p.m., Sat., Sept. 14, 2:30 & 8 p.m., Sun., Sept. 15, 2:30 p.m., Wed., Sept. 18, 7:30 p.m., Thu., Sept. 19, 7:30 p.m., Fri., Sept. 20, 8 p.m., Sat., Sept. 21, 8 p.m. and Sun., Sept. 22, 2:30 p.m. 2013
Price: $25-$27
Is Gypsy about the legendary queen of burlesque, Gypsy Rose Lee, or is it about her ruthless, domineering and deeply complex mother? The answer is both, which is why the Jule Styne musical — book by Arthur Laurents and lyrics by Stephen Sondheim — is among the supreme powerhouses of American theater. The production at Theatre Charlotte kicks off Sept. 6 and runs through Sept. 22, with an extra busy schedule to accommodate the queue accumulating to see Gypsy’s devastating one-two knockout punch, “Let Me Entertain You” followed by “Rose’s Turn.” With Lisa Smith Bradley as Rose and Cassandra Howley Wood as Louise, there’s no reason to doubt this will be good.
— Perry Tannenbaum

Reviews/comments

Subscribe to this thread:

Add a review

Creative Loafing encourages a healthy discussion on its website from all sides of the conversation, but we reserve the right to delete any comments that detract from that. Violence, racism and personal attacks that go beyond the pale will not be tolerated.


Roll over stars and click to rate.

Search Events…

Map

Nearby

History

© 2018 Womack Newspapers, Inc.
Powered by Foundation