This is a past event.
Submit to Reddit

Sizwe Banzi is Dead 

When: Fri., Feb. 21, 8 p.m., Sat., Feb. 22, 8 p.m., Sun., Feb. 23, 2:30 p.m., Fri., Feb. 28, 8 p.m., Sat., March 1, 8 p.m., Sun., March 2, 2:30 p.m., Fri., March 7, 8 p.m., Sat., March 8, 8 p.m., Sun., March 9, 2:30 p.m., Fri., March 14, 8 p.m. and Sat., March 15, 8 p.m. 2014
Price: $18-$28
Carolina Actors Studio Theatre remembers the late Nelson Mandela in its staging of Sizwe Bansi is Dead, a play written about apartheid. That is, after all, the very thing Mandela worked to abolish. First premiering in 1972, the production brings to light the drastic measures one must take to survive the regime conditions in South Africa. In the show, we meet Sizwe Bansi, who struggles to find a work permit in order to provide for himself and his family. After stumbling upon a dead man with a valid permit, Bansi is faced with the difficult choice of forever altering his identity. (Anita Overcash)

Reviews/comments

Subscribe to this thread:

Add a review

Creative Loafing encourages a healthy discussion on its website from all sides of the conversation, but we reserve the right to delete any comments that detract from that. Violence, racism and personal attacks that go beyond the pale will not be tolerated.


Roll over stars and click to rate.

Search Events…

Map

Nearby

History

© 2017 Womack Newspapers, Inc.
Powered by Foundation