This is a past event.
Submit to Reddit

The Other Place CL Recommends

When: Wed., Jan. 8, 7:30 p.m., Thu., Jan. 9, 8 p.m., Fri., Jan. 10, 8 p.m., Sat., Jan. 11, 8 p.m., Thu., Jan. 16, 8 p.m., Fri., Jan. 17, 8 p.m., Sat., Jan. 18, 8 p.m., Sun., Jan. 19, 2:30 p.m., Thu., Jan. 23, 8 p.m., Fri., Jan. 24, 8 p.m., Sat., Jan. 25, 8 p.m., Sun., Jan. 26, 2:30 p.m., Thu., Jan. 30, 8 p.m., Fri., Jan. 31, 8 p.m. and Sat., Feb. 1, 8 p.m. 2014
Price: $18-$28; $30-$40 for Jan. 8 performance with a Q&A with Matt Olin and complimentary desserts and coffee
Playwright Sharr White’s The Other Place reminds us of the uncertainties of life. We aren’t promised good health and fortune, and sometimes things aren’t what they seem. That’s the case in this drama, whose protagonist (and sometimes antagonist) Juliana Smithton suffers from illness and a family gone awry. Smithton is a neurologist in the midst of a divorce. On top of a marriage in shambles, she has trouble communicating with her daughter, who ran off with an older man, and her own health seems to be deteriorating. But there’s more to this story and we’re forced to do some emotional digging. This production premieres at CAST, and stars Marla Brown, Jeff Johnston, Frances Bendert and Jeffrey Woodard. (Anita Overcash)

Reviews/comments

Subscribe to this thread:

Add a review

Creative Loafing encourages a healthy discussion on its website from all sides of the conversation, but we reserve the right to delete any comments that detract from that. Violence, racism and personal attacks that go beyond the pale will not be tolerated.


Roll over stars and click to rate.

Search Events…

Map

Nearby


History

© 2019 Womack Digital, LLC
Powered by Foundation