Tuesday, August 17, 2010

Mixtape Review: Wale's More About Nothing

Posted By on Tue, Aug 17, 2010 at 10:52 AM

click to enlarge m_a_n

The Deal: Buzz for new mixtape from DMV front runner trends World wide on Twitter and gives nod to his previous mixtape, The Mixtape About Nothing.

The Good: Completely obliterated my modest expectations.

Lyrically, Wale is getting stronger and seems to be spitting with a keen understanding of who his original audience and the new people that listen to him now for his punchlines and innuendo.

I'm never against flipping Lenny Kravitz into something more hip-hop like he did on "The Get Away (Fly Away)"

Cleverly integrated Seinfeld quotes to not only move the mixtape along but to set the theme of songs. Nice touch.

"The Soup," "The Friends N Strangers," and "The Black N Gold" are pretty much can't miss.

The Bad: A lot of material to digest, makes me worry about how much of it will end up on his second studio album.

The Verdict: For a mixtape supposedly about nothing, Wale had a lot to say. Some fans will complain that they wish the album was more like this but those who realize what he's doing know there's a big difference between album and mixtape material, even though the gap is closing.


Roc Nation; Release date: Aug. 3, 2010

Download Wale's More About Nothing

Tracklist (Production Credit):

01. The Problem (produced by DJ Omega & Kosmik)

02. The MC  (produced by Mark Henry)

03. The Soup  (produced by Best Kept Secret)

04. The Breeze (Cool) w/ Wiz Khalifa + Tre of UCB  (produced by Mark Henry)

05. The Friends N Strangers w/ Tre of UCB  (produced by Kosmik)

06. The Number Won (Competition)  (produced by Bassheads)

07. The Eyes of  The Tiger  (produced by Tone P)

08. The War w/ Daniel Merriweather  (produced by Bassheads)

09. The Break Up Song  (produced by Anlo)

10. The Work (Workin)  (produced by Yogi)

11. The Black N Gold w/ Sam Sparro  (produced by DJ Omega & Kosmik)

12. The Manipulation, Pt. 2  (produced by Kosmik)

13. KD Interlude

14. The Posse Cut (Who Don't) w/ Fat Tre & Black Cobain  (produced by Kosmik)

15.  The Guilty Pleasure (No Hands) w/ Wake Flocka & Roscoe Dash  (produced by Drumma Boy)

16. The Trip (Downtown)  (produced by DJ Omega & Kosmik)

17. The Ambitious Girl  (produced by Osinachi)

18. The Motivation (Be Right) w/ Dre from Cool & Dre  (produced by Cool & Dre)

19. The Cloud w/ Tiara Thomas  (produced by Tiara Thomas)

20. The Power w/ Avery Storm  (produced by Osinachi)

21.  The Get Away (Fly Away) w/ Northeast Groovers  (produced by Best Kept Secret)

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Pin It
Submit to Reddit


Subscribe to this thread:

Add a comment

Creative Loafing encourages a healthy discussion on its website from all sides of the conversation, but we reserve the right to delete any comments that detract from that. Violence, racism and personal attacks that go beyond the pale will not be tolerated.

Search Events

items in Creative Loafing Charlotte More in Creative Loafing Charlotte pool

© 2017 Womack Newspapers, Inc.
Powered by Foundation